Gamification of Change Management?

I never heard of “gamification” until a few weeks ago. Maybe I shouldn’t admit to not knowing about something that has been going on in the IT space for sometime now but…I really never heard of it.

I don’t really play games like Farmville or WoW or Mafia Wars. I have played Angry Birds and a few other like games but not for hours and hours and I’ve never “beaten” any of them. So, I guess I was a little out of touch with the roots of “gamification” and I’ve only come to know it from a news article link on LinkedIn.

Since then I see it everywhere. It is like I took the red pill or something. Today, Harvard Business Review asked “What if all work were gamified?” Interesting question…

I work as a Change Manager at a fairly large company. The history of Change Management here hasn’t been a very rich or successful one. I do believe we are making strides in the right direction but could we go further with “gamification” of the Change Management process?

I thought about a point system that could work something like this:

Change Request/Approval points

  • 1 pt for each change request
  • 2 pts for approving a “Standard” change
  • 3 pts for having a “Standard” change request approved
  • 5 pts for a “Standard” change request approved 10 days before the implementation date (this gets around “requesting a change” 10 days early – I can already see people putting in skeleton changes just to get some points!)
  • 5 pts for having a “Normal” change approved
  • 10 pts for having a “Normal” change approved 10 days before the implementation date
  • -15 pts for implementing a change without approval
  • -1 pt for each cancelled change
Then we can have Change Impact Points
  • 20 points for a successful “Normal” change
  • 100 points for a successful “Standard” change
  • -10 points for an Emergency Change
  • -30 points for a failed “Normal” change
  • -150 points for a failed “Standard” change
  • -10 points for a backed out “Normal” change
  • -75 points for a backed out “Standard” change
Then maybe some rewards based on point totals. Maybe a free lunch for anyone over 50 change request/approval points and 250 change impact points? A $100 gift reward for achieving the most points over a quarter?
Would this work? I don’t know but I’d love to give it a try.
What are your thoughts?
Leave a Reply

